How To Hide Photos On iPhone Using The Notes App

You want to hide your pictures so no one else can look at them when they borrow your iPhone. Believe me — you aren’t the only who has embarrassing pictures on your iPhone. In this article, I’ll show you how to hide photos on your iPhone using the Notes app!

Do I Need To Download An App To Hide Pictures On My iPhone?

A lot of other articles will tell you that you have to download a specific app before you can hide photos on your iPhone. However, you can hide your pictures in the Notes app! Follow the steps below to learn how to password protect photos on your iPhone without downloading a new app.

How To Hide Photos On iPhone

Begin by opening the Notes app on your iPhone and creating a new folder by tapping New Folder in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. Give the folder a name — if you’re trying to hide photos on your iPhone, you probably don’t want to name it “Super Secret Picture.”

create folder for hiding iphone photos

Now that the folder has been created, tap on it and create a new note by tapping the new note button in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. In the new note, tap the small black plus button above the keyboard.

create new note for hidden pictures

Next, tap Photo Library and find the picture or pictures you want to hide on your iPhone. Finally, tap Done in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Now, the picture will appear within the note.

choose photo to add on iphone

To lock the note and keep your picture or pictures secure, tap the share button in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Next, tap the Lock Note button in the menu that appears and set up a password for the note. Once you’ve set up a password, tap Done in the upper-right hand corner of the screen.

how to lock note on iphone

To lock your note and hide the photos on your iPhone, tap the lock button the the top of the screen. You’ll know the note has been locked when your iPhone says “This note is locked.” When you’re ready to unlock the note, tap  View Note and enter the password.

this note is locked iphone

After creating a note for your super secret iPhone picture, don’t forget to go back into the Photos app and erase the picture. To erase a picture on your iPhone, open the Photos app and tap on the picture you want to delete. Then, tap the trash can button in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen and tap Delete Photo.

delete secret photo on iphone

Finally, make sure you go to the Recently Deleted folder in the Albums section of the Photos app and delete the picture there as well.

recently deleted images iphone

Can I Save My Hidden Pictures Back On The Photos App?

Yes, even if you’ve deleted the photo on your iPhone, you can save the picture back to the Photos app from the secret note you’ve created. Open the note, then tap on the share button in the upper right-hand corner of the display.

Then, swipe right to left on the bottom third of the menu that appears until you see Save Image. Tap the Save Image button to save the picture back to the Photos app.

save hidden picture to photos app

You’ll Never See My Photos!

You’ve successfully hidden your private pictures so no one will ever find them! I hope you’ll share this article on social media to show your friends, family, and followers how to hide photos on their iPhone. If you have any other questions about your iPhone, feel free to leave them in the comments section below.

Best wishes,
David L.

Comments

About Author

Hi, I'm David. I am a writer and editor. I enjoy creating content that helps readers learn information that will benefit them in their daily lives.