Restrictions Is Missing On My iPhone! Here’s Where It Went.

You just updated to iOS 12, but now you can’t find Restrictions. Don’t worry, Restrictions isn’t missing, it has just been moved! In this article, I’ll explain where Restrictions has been moved to and how you can use Screen Time to restrict what someone can or can’t do on your iPhone!

Where Are iPhone Restrictions?

When you update your iPhone to iOS 12, you’ll find that Restrictions have been moved to the Screen Time section in the Settings app. You can find Screen Time by opening Settings and tapping Screen Time.

If you haven’t already, tap Turn On Screen Time and set up a Screen Time Passcode. In the Screen Time menu, you’ll see Content & Privacy Restrictions — that’s where Restrictions has been moved.

content privacy restrictions in screen time

What Is Screen Time?

Screen Time is a new feature introduced with the release of iOS 12. It’s designed to help users manage how long  they look at their iPhone screen and, in some cases, limit what they can see. You can learn more about Screen Time in our article about the new iOS 12 features!

How To Set Up Content & Privacy Restrictions

To set up Content & Privacy Restrictions on your iPhone, go to Settings -> Screen Time and tap Content & Privacy Restrictions.

First, you’ll have to set a Screen Time Passcode. This a separate passcode from the one you use to unlock your iPhone. Then, turn on the switch next to Content & Privacy at the top of the screen.

turn on content and privacy on iphone

Now that Content & Privacy has been turned on, you have tons of control of what can or can’t be accessed on your iPhone. Here’s a breakdown of the main features within the Content & Privacy Restrictions:

  • iTunes & App Store Purchases: Allows you to turn off the ability to install apps, delete apps, and make purchases within apps.
  • Allowed Apps: Allows you to turn off certain built-in apps like Safari, FaceTime, and Wallet.
  • Content Restrictions: Allows you to prevent downloads of music, movies, books, and TV shows based on their rating. You can also filter out explicit websites and adjust a few of your Game Center settings.
  • Location Sharing: Allows you to turn off Share My Location, a feature that shares your precise location with friends and family in the Messages app.
  • Privacy: Allows you to turn off Location Services and adjust the privacy settings of specific apps. These options can also be found in Settings -> Privacy.

Content & Privacy Restrictions also enables you to Allow Changes to many different things including your passcode, volume, accounts, TV provider, background app activities (Background App Refresh), cellular data settings, and Do Not Disturb While Driving settings.

Can I Turn Restrictions Off After They’ve Been Set Up?

Yes, you can turn off Content & Privacy Restrictions at any time! But here’s the catch — in order to turn them off, you have to know the Screen Time passcode. This way, your son or daughter can’t simply turn off the Content Privacy & Restrictions settings right after you’ve set them up!

To turn off Content & Privacy Restrictions, open Settings and tap Screen Time. Then, tap Content & Privacy Restrictions and enter your Screen Time passcode. Finally, turn off the switch at the top of the screen to the right of Content & Privacy Restrictions. You’ll know it’s off when the switch is white.

turn off content privacy and restrictions

You’ve Found Restrictions!

Now that you know Restrictions is not missing, you can continue to monitor and control what people can and can’t do on your iPhone! I hope you’ll share this article on social media when your family or friends believe Restrictions is missing on their iPhone. If you have any other questions about your iPhone or iOS 12, feel free to leave a comment below!

Thanks for reading,
David L.

Comments

About Author

I'm here to help you with your iPhone!

Heather JordanYou paid a lot for your iPhone. Learn how to get the most out of it with our free eBook and invitation to our private iPhone help Facebook group.