iPhone Significant Locations: What It Means & How To Turn It Off!

You were using your iPhone when all of a sudden you stumbled upon a setting called Significant Locations. “Has Apple been tracking me everywhere I go!?” you ask yourself. In this article, I’ll explain the iPhone Significant Locations feature and show you how to turn it off!

What Is iPhone Significant Locations?

iPhone Significant Locations is a feature that tracks and saves the places you’re located most often. Apple uses these locations to send you specific alerts in the Calendar, Maps, and Photos app. Although your iPhone saves these Significant Locations, Apple can’t see or read them because the data is encrypted.

To view your iPhone Significant Locations, go to Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services -> System -> Services -> Significant Locations. If you have Significant Locations turned on and you’ve had your iPhone for awhile, you’ll probably see a few locations here under History. If you just got your iPhone, you may not have any have any Significant Locations yet.

significant locations on iphone

How To Turn Off Significant Locations

Turning off Significant Locations is one of the many steps in our article about extending iPhone battery life. Location Services that track you everywhere you go can be a huge drain on your iPhone’s battery.

To turn off iPhone Significant Locations, open Settings and tap Privacy -> Location Services -> System Services -> Significant Locations. Then, turn off the switch next to Significant Locations. You’ll know it’s off when it’s white.

turn off iphone significant locations

If you ever want to turn iPhone Significant Locations back on, just go back to this menu and turn the switch back on. It make take a few days before Apple has enough data to save any Significant Locations on your iPhone.

Clear Significant Locations History

If you want to erase the Significant Locations that have been saved on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod, go to Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services -> System Services -> Significant Locations and tap Clear History. Finally, tap Clear History when the confirmation alert appears on the screen.

clear significant locations history

Significant Locations: Explained!

You now know what Significant Locations are on your iPhone and how to turn them off! Share this article on social media to teach your family and friends about iPhone Significant Locations too. Leave a comment below if you have any other questions about your iPhone!

Thanks for reading,
David L.

About Author

I'm here to help you with your iPhone!

Subscribe
Notify of
24 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gareth Reid
1 month ago

I read an article that said if I turn this off, optimized battery charging wont work. Is this true?

Sonia
1 month ago

I can’t clear my history on Significant Locations – what do I need to do to clear it?

Sofkider Otasowie
5 months ago

How can I stop Facebook for see my location on my iPhone

Editor
Colin Boyd
4 months ago

You can do this by turning off Facebook in Location Services! To do this, open Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services. Then, scroll down to the Facebook app listing and tap it. From there, just tap Never under Allow Location Access.

David
5 months ago

iPhone 12 Mini here, version 14.5.1 – and under Location Services, there is no “System Services” to be found. What now?! Thanks.

Arnold
6 months ago

Hi, I wanted to know how come the significant location is showing me in a false location, from the previous morning, at 8am when I was home in bed today? Any advice?

Terry
7 months ago

I followed your instructions. When I got to significant locations, it was switched on. When I tapped the on, to switch it off, there was a red circle which looked like a finger print + Touch ID for “Settings”. However, touching it did not accept the thumb print which I use to open my phone.
How do I get around this please?

amanda
6 months ago
Reply to  Terry

It wants your fingerprint on the fingerprint sensor (prob your round button on the bottom center of your phone that you prob click on when you want to go to your home screen) or else it will be above/beside/below the camera on the back of your phone. It doesn’t want you to actually touch the fingerprint icon that displays on your screen. I did the same thing once lmbo

epicgamer
8 months ago

If I turned of location services would significant locations still be on?

Sunflower
8 months ago

I followed these instructions to clear history but there is a circle that just keeps spinning. It won’t clear. Every time the screen goes off it I have to start it all over again. Been trying for two days-it just won’t clear!

Darren
10 months ago

Can I view the location on a larger map as some are not very accurate

Messybun3
11 months ago

does this significant location record when the iphone is powered off but still traveling. The device has cell service just powered off?

Liam Shotwell
11 months ago
Reply to  Messybun3

Probably not. Your iPhone can only record significant location when it’s powered on

Chris
1 year ago

Does this turn off photo location tagging in my iphone camera?

Maria
1 year ago

I was able
to clear the history on my IPhone but when I went to do it on my husband’s phone, I got a message saying can not clear history. Why is that?

Jody Torpy ***Ipad
1 year ago
Reply to  Maria

Mine is saying that as well it says I cannot clear it cannot delete it why why can’t I delete my significant locations or my Maps history I’m wondering is it being shared somewhere else and I don’t know my phone is the phone it’s my only ID

Catherine Rowe
1 year ago

I can’t find the ‘system services ‘ … the fourth point in the instructions ?

Travis
1 year ago

Based on my ‘Significant Locations’ data, it appears it only notes locations when you’ve utilized an app that has requested location services (eg. Google Maps, Walmart/Retail Apps, Calendar, etc.). As to what qualified these locations as “significant”, it doesn’t seem to matter how many times you’ve been to a particular location, nor the duration of the visit, although it does note this information in your results. Apple seems to be doing more than most tech companies to maintain some level of privacy, but I’d still turn these off, as well as most of the other location permission settings. You can… Read more »

Arnold
6 months ago
Reply to  Travis

Mine does the same thing, however, sometimes the place are wrong for example I ordered a Uber for someone and it shows that I went there. I wonder why

James Isom
2 years ago

You didnt discuss what significant locations means.

Ray Brown
2 years ago

If I visit a place just once for a few minutes will it register as a significant location-would be convenient?

Fairfax Lisa
2 years ago

Why do some places show up and others do not? Also, why on some locations it shows how long the trip took – and others dont?

Nai Angeles
3 years ago

If i go to a place, will it automatically register the place ive been to? Or will the place registration relect in a couple of days?